Faculty & Staff

Meet the Team

Mr. Browning

Mr. Browning

Principal

Browning is excited to start his 21st year working in his hometown. He and his wife have two boys (2nd and 6th graders), two cats, and a French bulldog. They love to spend time traveling, rooting on the Dodgers and UCLA, and visiting amusement parks. He considers the entire Stauffer community one big family! Once a Spartan, always a Spartan! 

Mrs. Hanohano-Lira

Mrs. Hanohano-Lira

Vice Principal

Hanohano-Lira is excited to serve in her fifth year here as Vice Principal. Previously, she worked as a history teacher, ASB director, and cheer coach at Warren High School, GO BEARS!  She lives in Long Beach with her husband, two daughters (Lucy and Lola), and her dog Margaret Thatcher. She loves to bake, swim, and watch movies. 

Mr. Koenig

Mr. Koenig

Dean of Students

Koenig was born and raised in La Mirada and has loved playing sports as long as he can remember. He was an English teacher and coach for many years at La Mirada High School before joining Downey Unified in 2006 as an English teacher. He has many hobbies and interests but his main focus and love is his family!

Ms. Greer

Ms. Greer

6th Grade Counselor

Before counseling, Greer was a teacher. She is first generation in the U.S. and only spoke Spanish until she learned English with her friends and at school. She is a proud mother to twins, Alex and Ari (seniors in college), and her dog, Mimi. In her free time, she likes to try foods from different cultures, exercise, and sleep.

Mr. Del Rio

Mr. Del Rio

7th Grade Counselor

This is Del Rio’s 14th year at Stauffer as the 7th Grade Counselor, and he could not imagine being anywhere else. He grew up in Orange County and lives in Placentia with his wife, nephew and his two cats Pebbles and Piper. When he’s not counseling, he enjoys barbecuing, playing the drums and golfing with his friends. 

Mrs. Hayes

Mrs. Hayes

8th Grade Counselor

Hayes’ primary goal is to help students learn and grow so that when they move on to high school, they are prepared for the exciting future ahead of them. She is always here to help and, if you need anything, please don’t hesitate to email her. She believes Stauffer is an amazing place with many opportunities for every student. 

Ms. Carrizo

Ms. Carrizo

Office Manager

Carrizo has been part of the Spartan family for 18 years. As a resident of Downey, she proudly chose to have her own children enroll at Stauffer. She has seen many changes and iterations here, but one constant is Downey’s genuine care and support. She says she is honored to work alongside such dedicated staff and to call Stauffer home.

Spartan Directory

Office Staff

Darryl Browning
Principal
Main Office
dbrowning@dusd.net

Erin Hanohano-Lira
Vice Principal
Main Office
ehanohano@dusd.net

Lisa Carrizo
Office Manager
Main Office
lcarrizo@dusd.net

Mayra Beltran
Attendance
Main Office
mbeltranlaura@dusd.net

Todd Koenig
Dean of Students
Main Office
tkoeng@dusd.net

Ana Martin Del Campo
Records
Main Office
amartindelcampo@dusd.net

Dianna Diaz
Intermediate Clerk
Main Office
didiaz@dusd.net

Dr. Susana Zamarripa
Psychologist
Main Office
szamarripa@dusd.net

Counselors

Josie Greer
6th Grade Counselor
Office
jgreer@dusd.net

Brandon Del Rio
7th Grade Counselor
Office
bdelrio@dusd.net

AndaJo Hayes
8th Grade Counselor
Office
ahayes@dusd.net

English Department

Dina Carter
English Teacher
Room 43
dcarter@dusd.net

Laurie Dayhoff
English Teacher
Room 52
ldayhoff@dusd.net

Chrysanthi Davilas
English Teacher
Room IH-3
cdavilas@dusd.net

Julia Desalernos
Librarian
Library
jdesalernos@dusd.net

Judy Diulio
*EL Coordinator
Room 24
jdiulio@dusd.net

Chris Donahue
English Teacher
Room 53
cdonahue@dusd.net

Deborah Eduad
English Teacher
Room 56
deduad@dusd.net

Alyson Harr
English Teacher
Room 37
aharr@dusd.net

Diane Huff
English Teacher
Room 51
dhuff@dusd.net

April Partin
English Teacher
Room 57
apartin@dusd.net

Marlene Peterson
English Teacher
Room 72
mpeterson@dusd.net

Elise Ragusa
English Teacher
Room 45
eragusa@dusd.net

Kim Staggenborg
English Teacher
Room 71
kstaggenborg@dusd.net

Fine Arts

Kat Clark
Fine Arts
Room 26
kclark@dusd.net

Stephen Desalernos
Fine Arts
Room 78
sdesalernos@dusd.net

Ozzy Zarate
Band Leader
Band
ozarate@dusd.net

Andrea Pyle
Drama Teacher
Theater
apyle@dusd.net

Tri Tansopalucks
Fine Arts
Room 14
ttansopalucks@dusd.net

Math

Katie Black
Math Teacher
Room #75
kablack@dusd.net

Matt Donahue
Math Teacher
Room #15
mdonahue@dusd.net

Jim Hollon
Math Teacher
Room #66
jhollon@dusd.net

John Kang
Math Teacher
Room #64
jjkang@dusd.net

Dimitra Liakopoulos
Math Teacher
Room #76
dliakopoulos@dusd.net

Sara Maples
Math Teacher
Room #47
ssmaples@dusd.net

Odette Perreault
Math Teacher
Room #38
operreault@dusd.net

Rola Saikali
Math Teacher
Room #74
rsaikali@dusd.net

Dave Shea
Math Teacher
Room #61
dshea@dusd.net

Science

Dan Bach
Science Teacher
Room #1
drbach@dusd.net

Nicole Contreras
Science Teacher
Room #3
ncontreras@dusd.net

Louis Cortez
Science Teacher
Room #2
lcortez@dusd.net

David Dekker
Science Teacher
Room #IH-D
ddekker@dusd.net

Michelle Derkum
Science Teacher
Room #12
mderkum@dusd.net

Oliver Tindoc
Science Teacher
Room #11
otindoc@dusd.net

Social Studies

Rebecca Brauser
Social Studies Teacher
Room #46
rbrauser@dusd.net

Richard Baltazar
Social Studies Teacher
Room #65
rbaltazar@dusd.net

Jean Villanueva
Social Studies Teacher
Room #41
jvillanueva@dusd.net

Gina Gallion
Social Studies Teacher
Room #54
ggallion@dusd.net

William Holmes
Social Studies Teacher
Room #62
wholmes@dusd.net

Karen Korduner
Social Studies Teacher
Room #48
kkorduner@dusd.net

Reggie Munoz
Social Studies Teacher
Room #36
rmunoz@dusd.net

Special Education

Vonnie Casalengo
Special Education
Room #42
vcasalegno@dusd.net

Faye Castro
Special Education
Room #73
fcastro@dusd.net

Mireya Cruz
Special Education
Room #81
mcruz@dusd.net

Daniel Estrella
Special Education
Room #IH-F
destrella@dusd.net

Desiree Goldsmith
Special Education
Room #42
dgoldsmith@dusd.net

Valerie Herz
Special Education
Room #51
vherz@dusd.net

Jorge Guerreo
Speech Therapist
Room #
joguerrero@dusd.net

Angela Ross
Speech Therapist
Room #
aross@dusd.net

Deanna McConnell
Special Education
Room #44
dmcconnell@dusd.net

Mike Nametz
Special Education
Room #80
mnametz@dusd.net

Maricella Rooney
Special Education
Room #77
mrooney@dusd.net

Darla Webster
Special Education
Room #67
dwebster@dusd.net

Adorliz Woodhouse
Special Education
Room #79
awoodhouse@dusd.net

Physical Education

Deidra Doherty
PE Teacher
Girls Locker Room
ddoherty@dusd.net

Sean McConnell
PE Teacher
Boys Locker Room
smcconnell@dusd.net

Diana Vance
PE Teacher
Girls Locker Room
dvance@dusd.net

Eric Nakamura
PE Teacher
Boys Locker Room
enakamura@dusd.net

Home of the Spartans | Read, Lead, Succeed