Faculty & Staff

Meet the Team

Mr. Scott Fleming

Mr. Scott Fleming

Principal

Mr. Fleming will be starting his 23rd year in the Downey Unified School District where he has worked as a teacher, vice principal, assistant principal, and now as a principal. Before coming to Doty he was an assistant principal at Downey High School. This will be Mr. Fleming’s second time working at Doty where he also spent six years as the vice principal. Before attending college, Mr. Fleming attended Downey schools and graduated from Warren High. Mr. Fleming received his B.A. from CSUF and his M.Ed from CSUDH. Go Knights!

Mrs. Katharine Nicassio

Mrs. Katharine Nicassio

Vice Principal

Mrs. Nicassio has been happily employed in DUSD since 1995. She was a teacher and coordinator at Gallatin Elementary School and Griffiths Middle School before joining the Doty family as vice principal in 2019. Mrs. Nicassio received her B.A. from the University of California at Riverside, her teaching credential from California State University at Los Angeles, and her M.A. Education from Concordia University.

Michael Guzik

Michael Guzik

Dean of Students

Mr. Guzik has worked at Doty since 2009, starting as a teacher. He received his B.A. from UCSB, his Teaching Credential from CSUSB and his M.Ed from CSUDH. Mr. Guzik has worked as a P.E and Social Studies teacher at Doty for 12 years before becoming Dean of Students.

Mrs. Carrie Redfox

Mrs. Carrie Redfox

6th Grade Counselor

Mrs. Redfox lives in Downey and is a product of the Downey Unified School District. She received her B.A. from Cal State Fullerton and Masters in Counseling from Point Loma University. Her career in Downey includes service as a substitute teacher and elementary school teacher prior to becoming the 6th Grade Counselor of Doty Middle School in 2007.
Mrs. Michelle Navarro

Mrs. Michelle Navarro

7th Grade Counselor

Mrs. Navarro is a graduate of Downey High School and has been the 7th Grade Counselor at Doty since 2006. She received her B.A from CSULB and M.S. from National University. She enjoys encouraging and motivating students to always do and be their best selves. She and her husband have 3 boys and enjoy traveling, watching sports, and staying active.
Mr. Joe Webster

Mr. Joe Webster

8th Grade Counselor

Mr. Webster received his B.A. from CSULB, and his M. Ed. from The University of La Verne. His career in Downey Unified began in 1995 and includes service as a Special Education teacher, Counselor, Vice Principal, Principal and Program Administrator at the District Office.

Dr. Laura Dawson

School Psychologist

Knight Directory

Office Staff

Scott Fleming
Principal
sfleming@dusd.net

Kathy Nicassio
Vice Principal
knicassio@dusd.net

Michael Guzik
Dean of Students
mguzik@dusd.net

Cynthia Rico
Office Manager
crico@dusd.net

Magdalena Landeros
Attendance
malanderos@dusd.net

Karen Rodriguez
Records
karodriguez@dusd.net

Pending
Clerk

Vicki Arosteguy 
Categorical Resource Teacher
varosteguy@dusd.net

Counselors

Carrie Redfox
6th Grade Counselor
Office
credfox@dusd.net

Michelle Navarro
7th Grade Counselor
Office
mnavarro@dusd.net

Joe Webster
8th Grade Counselor
Office
jwebster@dusd.net

English / Language Arts

Barrera, Jennifer
Language Arts
Room 67
Teacher Site Link
jbarrera@dusd.net

Chacon, Elizabeth
English
Room 74
echacon@dusd.net

Cohen, Kristofer
Language Arts, AVID
Room 75
Teacher Site Link
krcohen@dusd.net

Dyer, Thomas
Language Arts
Room 76
tdyer@dusd.net

Eagen, Melanie
Language Arts
Room 35
meagen@dusd.net

Gillette, Teresa
Librarian
Room 33
tgillette@dusd.net

Ebony Gonzalez
English

Konoske, Joe
Language Arts
Room 21
Teacher Site Link
jkonoske@dusd.net

Mendoza, Gabi
Language Arts
Room 43
gmendoza@dusd.net

Molletti-Bovey, Virginia
Language Arts, ELD
Room 23
vmollettibovey@dusd.net

Moore, Catherine
Language Arts
Room 83
cmoore@dusd.net

Navarro, Javier
Language Arts
Room 82
jnavarro@dusd.net

Fine Arts

Becker, Robert
Doty TV, Robotics, Computer Literacy
Room 11
rebecker@dusd.net

Keen, Andrea
Music, Band
Room 5
akeen@dusd.net

Moren, Julie
Drama
Room 7
jmoren@dusd.net

Mui, Eunhae (Grace)
Fine Arts
Room 15
emui@dusd.net

Math

Andrade, Raul
Mathematics
Room 47
randrade@dusd.net

Dodge, Keven
Mathematics
Room 12
kdodge@dusd.net

Driscoll, Loren
Mathematics
Room 89
ldriscoll@dusd.net

Haas, Derek
Mathematics
Room 86
dhaas@dusd.net

Hauben, Kelly
Mathematics, ELD
Room 85
khauben@dusd.net

Hedden, David
Mathematics
Room 87
dhedden@dusd.net

Kotsis, Martha
Mathematics
Room 37
mkotsis@dusd.net

Marcy, Wendy
Mathematics, Title 1
Room 84
wmarcy@dusd.net

Parry, Tracy
Mathematics, ASB
Room 88
tparry@dusd.net

Vingino, Lora
Mathematics
Room 42
lvingino@dusd.net

Science & Technology

Awad, Myra
Science
Room 54
mawad@dusd.net

Fiktarz, Joseph
Science
Room 55
jfiktarz@dusd.net

Harney, Daniel
Science
Room 73
dharney@dusd.net

Lyons, John
Science
Room 72
jlyons@dusd.net

Im, Chad
Science
Room 52
cim@dusd.net

McGregory, Kendra
Science
Room 55
kmcgregory@dusd.net

Esmeralda Padilla
Science
Room 53

Social Studies

Belman, Billy
Social Studies
Room 46
Teacher Website
bbelman@dusd.net

Carter, Kathleen
Social Studies
Room 34
kcarter@dusd.net

Garcia, Linda
Social Studies
Room 41
ligarcia@dusd.net

Hancock, Ron
Social Studies
Room 77
rhancock@dusd.net

Mills, Hayden
Social Studies
Room 23
hmills@dusd.net

Minahan, David
Social Studies
Room 22
dminahan@dusd.net

Stella, Allyson
Social Studies
Teacher Website
Room 65
astella@dusd.net

Special Education

Agranowitz, Natalia
Special Education
Room F
nagranowitz@dusd.net

Bovey, Virginia
Special Education
Room 24
vbovey@dusd.net

Brazill, Kylie
Special Education
Room 71
kbrazill@dusd.net

Castro, Raeleen
Special Education
Room TBD
racastro@dusd.net

Douglas, Manuel
Special Education
Room 66
mdouglas@dusd.net

Garcia, Cinthya
Special Education
Room 35
cgarcia@dusd.net

Menendez, Cindy
Special Education
Room 35
cmenendez@dusd.net

Nighswonger, Laura
Special Education
Room 45
lnighswonger@dusd.net

Portillo, Evelyn
Special Education
Room E
eportillo@dusd.net

Tarver, Nicole
Special Education
Room 81
ntarver@dusd.net

Physical Education

Creed, Kendra
Physical Education
kcred@dusd.net

Fetter, Mark
Physical Education
mfetter@dusd.net

Lavalle, Vincent
Physical Education
vlavalle@dusd.net

Martin, Sheri
Physical Education
smartin@dusd.net

Zapien, Ruby
Physical Education
rzapien@dusd.net

Wellness

Iris King
Clinical School Therapist
Wellness Center
iking@dusd.net

Lucia Cortez
Inter. Clerk
Wellness Center
lucortez@dusd.net

Home of the Knights | Developing Opportunities for Today’s Youth